The Twifo Atti Morkwa District (formerly Twifo Heman Lower Denkyira) with its capital Twifo Praso is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana and forms part of the 22 MMDAs in the Central Region.

It has a total land area of 1199km2 and it is located between latitudes 5’50’N and 5’51’ N and longitudes 1’50W and 1’10’W.

Twifo Atti Morkwa District was carved from Denkyira District Council in 1988 by LI 1377 with the name Twifo Hemang Lower Denkyira District. In 2012, government split the Twifo Hemang Lower Denkyira District into two districts namely; Twifo Atti Morkwa District and Twifo Hemang Lower Denkyira District under the Local Government Act 462 of 1992 by LI 2023.

Twifo Atti Morkwa District is bounded on the north by the Upper Denkyira East Municipal on the south by the Abura Asebu Kwamankese District, Cape Coast Metropolitan and Komenda Edina Eguafo Abirem Municipal, on the west by the Mpohor District and the east by the Assin Foso Municipal and Assin South District respectively.

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 100,851 with 49,998 male and 50,853 female.