Lower Manya Krobo Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana and forms part of the thirty three (33) Municipalities and Districts in the Eastern Region.

It lies between latitude 6.05S and 6.30N and longitude 0o08E and 0.20W. with the Administrative Capital of the District as

The District covers an area of 1,476 km, constituting about 8.1% of the total land area within the Region (18,310 km).

The major towns in the district include Odumase township (which incorporates Atua, Agormanya and Nuaso), Akuse and Kpong in the Lower Manya area.

The Municipality shares boundaries with Upper Manya Krobo District to the north, to the south with Shai Osudoku District respectively, to the west with Yilo Krobo Municipal and to the east with Asuogyaman District.

The population of the Municipality according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 89,246 with 41,470 males and 47,776 females.