The Sekyere Central District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 43 of MMDAs in the Ashanti Region and has its administrative capital as Nsuta.

The District is located on the northern part of the region with the land size of 1,631.1 sq. km. It lies within longitudes 0.05 degrees and 1.30 degrees west and latitudes 6.55 degrees and 7.30 degrees north.

The District shares boundaries with Mampong Municipal, Atebubu Amantin Municipal, Sekyere East District, Sekyere South District, and Ejura Sekyedumase Municipal.

The population of the District according to the 2010 Population and Housing Census stands at 71,232 with 35,225 males 35,225 females.