The Wassa East District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana and forms part of the14 MMDAs in the Western Region.

Wassa East (formerly Mpohor Wassa East) District is located at the south-eastern end of the Western Region. The District was carved out from Wassa Fiase Mpohor District in 1988 and occupies an area of 1880 square kilometres (464,553) of which 344 square km 85,000 hectares are used as cultivable land.The District capital is Daboase, which is 6.7 km from the Cape Coast Takoradi main road.

It is bounded on the northeast and southeast by the Twifo Hemang Lower Denkyira (THLD) District and Komenda Edina Eguafo Abrem Municipal all in the Central Region. The District is again bounded on the west by the Amenfi West Municipal Assembly and in the south by the Shama District Assembly (SDA). On the east, it shares boundaries with Ahanta West District Assembly (AWDA).

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 99,641

with 51,200 males and 48,441 females.