The Zabzugu District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 16 MMDAs in the Northern Region.

The Zabzugu District, formerly called Zabzugu-Tatale District which was carved out of the former East Dagomba District (Yendi) in 1988 by PNDC Law 207, (Act 462), and in 2012 the District became one of the newly created districts due to the carving out of Tatale Sanguli District with LI 2053.

The Zabzugu District is located in the eastern part of the Northern Region and covers an area of 1,134sqKm2. It is one of the eastern corridor districts in the Northern Region of Ghana, with Zabzugu as the District capital.

It shares boundaries with Tatale Sanguli District to the east, Yendi Municipality to the west, Nanumba North Municipal to the south, and the Soboba District to the north.

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 82,846 with 40,879 males and 41,967 females.