Sekyere Kumawu District (formerly Sekyere Afram Plains District) is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 43 of MMDAs in the Ashanti Region and has its administrative capital as Kumawu.

The Sekyere Kumawu District was  established  in 2008  by Legislative  Instrument  (LI)  1838 and  is located between Latitudes 0° 20 and 1° 20 North and Longitudes 0° 45 and 1° 15 West.

The District covers an estimated land area of 1,500.6 square kilometres, which is 6.2 percent of the total land of Ashanti Region.

The District shares common boundaries with other districts in the region. They are Sekyere Central to the west, Sekyere East District and Asante Akim North District to the south. It also shares boundaries with other districts outside Ashanti Region. They are Kwahu Afram Plains North District in the Eastern Region to the east and the Sene East District in the Brono East Region to the north.