The Ningo Prampam District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 29 MMDAs in the Greater Accra Region.

Ningo Prampam District with its capital Prampram was carved from Dangme West District (Now Shai Osudoku) and forms part of the new Districts and Municipalities created in the year 2012 and were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June, 2012 by the LI 2132 and the Local Government Act of 1993(Act 462).

Ningo Prampram District covers a total land area of about 622.2 square kilometers. The District is located about 15 km to the east of Tema and about 40 km from Accra, the capital of Ghana.

The District is bounded in the north by Shai Osudoku District, south by the Gulf of Guinea, in the east by the Ada East District and to the west by Kpone Katamanso District.

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 204,673

with 101,871 males and 102,802 females.