The Yendi Municipal Assembly is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 16 MMDAs in the Northern Region.

The Yendi Municipal Assembly was established in 1988 by PNDC Law 207, Act 462, and LI 1443 and was elevated to a Municipality in 2007. The administrative capital of the municipality is Yendi.

The Municipality is located in the eastern corridor of the Northern Region and lies between Latitude 90 –350 North and 00 –300 West and 00 –150 East.

The Municipality is the capital of the Dagbon Kingdom and the seat of the Ya-Na the Over Lord of Dagbon. The Yendi Municipality cut through by the Greenwich Meridian, which passes through a number of settlements in the Municipality.

The Municipality shares boundaries with six other District Assemblies. These are Saboba District to the east, Chereponi and Zabzugu Districts to the south, Nanumba North Municipal to the north, Gushegu Municipal and Mion District to the west.

The population of the Municipality according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 154,421 with 76,142 males and 78,279 females.