The Sunyani Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 12 of Municipalities and Districts in the Bono Region with the capital as Sunyani.

The Municipality was established on 10th March, 1989 by a legislative instrument (LI) 1473. This was the period Ghana adopted the District Assembly concept. The overall goal is to accelerate growth and development in the Municipality. The Sunyani West District was carved from this Municipality on November 2007.

The Sunyani Municipal Assembly is located at the heart of Bono Region lying between Latitudes 70 20’N and 70 05’N and Longitudes 20 30’W and 20 10’W and covers a total land area of 131.9 Km2.

The Municipality is bordered on the north by Sunyani West Municipal; west by Dormaa East District, to the south by Asutifi South District to the south and east by Tano North Municipal.

The population of the Municipality according to the 2021 Population Housing Census stands at 136,022 with  67,251 males and 68,771