The Asokwa Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 43 of MMDAs in the Ashanti Region. 

The Asokwa Municipal Assembly is carved out of the Kumasi Metropolitan Assembly as one of the 38 newly created and upgraded District Assemblies in 2018.

Created with LI 2294, the Asokwa Municipal Assembly  has its capital as Asokwa.

It was inaugurated on March 15, 2018 alongside other 37 newly created districts.