The Central Tongu District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 18 of Municipalities and Districts in the Volta Region.

The District formerly known as North Tongu has its Administrative capital at Adidome which lies within the tropical savannah grassland zone. The Volta River runs from the north to the south of the Districts roughly dividing it into two equal parts with each half lying on the banks of the River.

The District shares boundaries with Akatsi North District and Akatsi South Municipal to the east, to the south with South Tongu District and Ada East Districts respectively, to the west with Dangme West District and to the north with North Tongu Districts.

The population of the District according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 59,411 with 27,790 males and 31,621 females.