The Krowor Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 29 MMDAs in the Greater Accra Region.

The Krowor Municipal Assembly is carved out of the Ledzekuku-Krowor Municipal Assembly as one of the 38 newly created and upgraded District Assemblies in 2018.

Created with Legislative Instrument (LI) 2318 the Krowor Municipal Assembly has its capital as Nungua.

It was inaugurated on March 15, 2018 alongside other 37 newly created districts.