The Wa West District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 11 of Municipalities and Districts in the Upper West Region.

The Wa West District was curved out of the Wa Municipality and made an autonomous district by L.I 1746.  The District is located in the western part of the Upper West Region, approximately between longitudes 9º 40’ N and 10º 10’ N and also between latitudes 2º 20’ W and 2º 50’ W.  The administrative capital is Wechiau.

In terms of size, it covers a total land area of 1,458 square kilometres.

The District Shares Boundaries with Sawla Tuna Karlba District to the south, Wa Municipal to the east Nadowli Kaleo District to the north and to the west with Ivory Coast.

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 96,957 with 45,880 males and 51,077 females.