The Akyemansa District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana and forms part of the 33 Municipalities and Districts in Eastern Region.

Akyemansa District was created out of the Birim North District under Legislative Instrument (LI) 1919 in 2008 with a land size of 611.80, km2

The Akyemansa District lies on longitude 10 10W and 1o OE. The District lies between two major commercial towns, Oda and Nkawkaw. Akyem Ofoase, the administrative capital is  located  at  the  meeting  point  of  the  New Abirem-Oda-Nkawkaw  roads.

The District is bordered by Birim North District to the north, Asante Akim South Municipal, Bekwai Municipal and Adansi South District all in the Ashanti region to the west, Birim Central Municipal to the south and Atiwa West District and Kwaebibirem Municipal to the east.

The population of the Municipalities according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 97,374 with males constituting 49.3% and females constituting 50.7%.