Kwahu South District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana and forms part of the 33 Municipalities and Districts in the Eastern Region.

The Administrative Capital of the District is Mpreaso and lies between latitude 6o 30’ N and 7o N and longitude 0o 30’ W and 1o W. It covers a total land area of 1,462km2.

The District Shares boundaries with Kwahu East District to the north, to the south with Kwahu West Municipal, to the east with Fanteakwa North District and to the west with Asante Akim South Municipal.

The population of the District according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 69,757 with 33,094 males and 36,663 females.