The Abura Asebu Kwamankese District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana and forms part of the 22 MMDAs in the Central Region with Abura Dunkwa as its administrative capital.

Abura Asebu Kwamankese District was carved out of the erstwhile Mfantseman Municipal Council in 1988 and was established by Legislative Instrument, L.I.1381.

The District covers a total area of 394 square kilometers. It is located between latitude 5°05’N and 5°25N and longitude 1°5W, and 1°20W. 

Abura Asebu Kwamankese District is bounded on the north, by Assin South District, on the east by Mfantseman Municipal, on the south-east by a 5km stretch of the Gulf of Guinea, on the south by Cape Coast Metropolitan and on the west by Twifo Heman Lower Denkyira District. 

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 124,465 with 59,644 male and 64,821 female.