The Tano South Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 6 of Municipalities and Districts in the Ahafo Region.

The Tano South Municipal was carved from the Tano District and by a Legislative Instrument LI 1765 of 2004, the Tano District was split into two.

The Municipal capital Bechem, is on the Sunyani-Kumasi first class road (asphalt) and about 54 km from Sunyani and 76 km from Kumasi.

The Municipality lies in the southern part of the Ahafo Region between latitudes 7º00”N and 7º25” N and longitudes 1º45” W and 2º15” W and covers an area of 489.0 square kilometres.

The Municipality is bordered to the north and east by the Offinso Municipal and Ahafo Ano South West District, on the south by the Ahafo Ano North Municipal and on its west and south-west by Tano North Municipal.

The population of the Municipality according to the 2021 Population and Housing Census stands at 87,219 with 43,026 males and 44,193 females.