The Awutu Senya West District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana and forms part of the 22 MMDAs in the Central Region.

The former Awutu Senya District Assembly has been split by LI 2025 of 6th February 2012 into Awutu Senya East Municipal and the Awutu Senya West District Assemblies.

The District was formerly part of the Awutu Senya District on 29 February 2008, until the eastern part of the district was split off to create Awutu Senya East District on 28 June 2012 and was later elevated to Municipal Assembly status on 15 March 2018 to become Awutu Senya East Municipal by LI 2025; thus the remaining part has been renamed as Awutu Senya West District by LI 2024 of February, 2012.

The Awutu Senya West District with its capital as Awutu Breku is situated between latitudes 5o 20’N and 5o 42’N and longitudes 0o 25’W and 0o 37’W at the eastern part of the Central Region of Ghana and covers a surface area of

It is bordered by the Awutu Senya East Municipal and Ga South Municipal to the east; Effutu Municipal and the Gulf of Guinea to the south; the West Akim Municipal to the north; Agona East and Birim South Districts to the north-west, Agona West Municipal to the west, and the Gomoa East District separating the southern of the District from the main land.

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 161,460 with 78,219 male and  83,241 female.