The Techiman North District is one of the 260 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 11 of Municipalities and Districts in the Bono East Region.

The Techiman North District was carved out of Techiman Municipal Assembly was established by the Legislative Instrument (LI 2095). It duly inaugurated on Thursday, 28th June, 2012 with Tuobodom as the District Capital.

The District covers an area of 389.4km2 and  lies between longitudes 1°49´ East and 2°30´ West and latitude 8°00´ North and 7°35´ South.

The District is made up of sixty-four (64) towns and villages. This number includes the five (5) major towns, namely; Tuobodom, Offuman, Aworowa, Krobo and Buoyem. Most of the settlements in the District are located along the two (2) main arterial roads in the District, that is, the Techiman-Wenchi and Techiman-Kintampo routes.

It shares political and administrative boundaries with the Techiman Municipality in the south, Wenchi Municipality in the north-west, Kintampo South District in the north and Nkoranza North District in the north-east.

The population of the District according to the Population and Housing Census stands at  59,068 with 28,766 males and 30,302 females.