The Pru East District is one 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 11 of such in the Bono East Region with the administrative capital as Yeji.

The District, created out of the then Atebubu District was established by Legislative Instrument (L.I) 1778 in 2004. It lies between Longitudes 00 30”W and 10 26”W and Latitudes 70 50”N and 80 22”N and covers an area of 1690 kmsq.

It shares boundaries with East Gonja Municipal to the north, Sene East and West Districts to the east, Nkoranza South Municipal and Atebubu-Amantin Municipal to the south and Kintampo North Municipal and Kintampo South District to the west.

The population of the District according to 2021 Population and Housing Census stands at 101,545 with 51,087 males and 50,458 females.