The Ablekuma West Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 29 MMDAs in the Greater Accra Region.

The Ablekuma West Municipal Assembly is carved out of the Accra Metropolitan Assembly as one of the 38 newly created and upgraded districts Assemblies in 2018.

Created with LI 2309, the Ayawaso East Municipal Assembly has its capital as Dansoman.

Was inaugurated on March  15, 2018 alongside other 37 newly created districts.