The Tema West  Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 29 MMDAs in the Greater Accra Region.

The Tema West Municipal Assembly is carved out of the Tema West Municipal Assembly as one of the 38 newly created and upgraded districts Assemblies in 2018.

Created with LI 2317, the Ga West  Municipal Assembly has its capital as Tema Comm 18.

Was inaugurated on March  15, 2018 alongside other 37 newly created districts.