The Savannah Region is one of the sixteen regions of Ghana and it forms part of the six newly created region out of the existing ten regions.

The New region was created on the 12th of February, 2019 with the Constitutional Instrument (C.I) 115 after the people in the catchment of the region vote YES for the creation of the Region with 99.7%. 581,368 out of 206,350 voters who cast their ballot in a referendum dated 27th December, 2018.

Savannah Region has its capital as Damongo with the population of 581,368 has six Municipal and District Assemblies (MDAs) and seven constituencies under its jurisdiction.

The MDAs in the region are Bole District, Sawla/Tuna/ Kalba District, Central Gonja District, West Gonja District, East Gonja Municipal and North Gonja District Assemblies.

The region covers a total land area of 35,862km2 and bordered on the North with Upper West Region,  East by Ghana-Côte d'Ivoire international borderthe South by Bono and Ahafo Regions and West by North East and Northern Regions.