The Suhum Municipal Assembly is one of the 260 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies in Ghana and forms part of the thirty three (33) Municipalities and Districts in the Eastern Region.

It was established and elevated to a municipality status in July 2012 by Legislative Instrument (L.I.) 2048 and Suhum is the municipal capital.

The Suhum Municipality is located in the south-central part of the Eastern Region of Ghana and covers a land area of about four hundred square kilometres (400km2)

It is bounded the New Juaben South Municipality to the north-east, East Akim Municipality to the north, Ayensuano District to the west and south, and Akwapim North Municipality to the east.

The population of the Municipality according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 90,358 with 43,962 males and 46,396 females.