The Ayawaso Central Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 29 MMDAs in the Greater Accra Region.

The Ayawaso Central Municipal Assembly is carved out of the Accra Metropolitan Assembly and has its capital as Kokomlemle.

It was inaugurated together with five other assemblies inaugurated by the government of Ghana on Tuesday February 9th 2019.

The population of the Municipality according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 94,831 with 46,488 males and 48,343 females.