The Western North Region is one of the sixteen regions of Ghana and it forms part of the six newly created region out of the existing ten regions.

The New region was created on the 15th of February, 2019 with the Constitutional Instrument (C.I) 117 after the people in the catchment of the region voted YES for the creation of the Region in a referendum dated 27th December, 2018.

Western North Region has its capital as Sefwi Wiawso and has nine Municipal and District Assemblies (MDAs) under its jurisdiction.

The MDAs in the region are Sefwi Wiawso Municipal, Aowin Municipal, Bia East, Bia West, Sefwi Akontombra District, Juaboso District, Bodi District, Suaman District, Bibiani/Anhwiaso/Bekwai Municipal