The Ayawaso West Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 29 MMDAs in the Greater Accra Region.

The Ayawaso West Municipal Assembly is carved out of the Ga West Municipal Assembly as one of the 38 newly created and upgraded districts Assemblies in 2018.

Created with LI 2312, the Ayawaso West Municipal Assembly has its capital as Dzorwulu.

Was inaugurated on March 15, 2018  alongside other 37 newly created districts.   

The Ayawaso West Municipal has a total land space of 385km sq and occupies about 3.0 % of the Greater Accra Regional land area. it is located on Longitude 05°35'N and on Latitude 00°06'W.

The Municipality is bordered in the north by the La Nkwantanang Madina Municipal, north-east by Adentan Municipal, east by Ledzokuku Municipal, south-east by La Dade Kotopon Municipal, south with Ayawaso North Municipal, south-west with Accra Metropolitan, west with Okaikwei North Municipal and in the north-west by Ga East Municipal.

The population of the Municipality according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 
75,303 with 38,164  males and 36,689 females.