The Tatale Sanguli District is one of the 260 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 16 MMDAs in the Northern Region.

Tatale Sanguli District with its capital Tatale which was carved from Zabzugu Tatale District was created in the year 2012 and inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June, 2012 with an L.I 2067.

The District is located in the eastern flank of the Northern Region and covers an area of about 1090.46440 km sq.

It shares boundaries with the Republic of Togo to the east, Zabzugu District to the south, Saboba District and Chereponi District to the north and Yendi Municipality to the west.

The population of the District according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 60,039 with 29,779 males and 30,260 females.