The Savelugu  Municipal   is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 16 MMDAs in the Northern Region.

The Municipality was carved out of the then Western Dagomba District Council which comprised Tamale, Tolon and Savelugu. The Municipality has its administrative capital at Savelugu.

It is located at the northern part of the Northern Region of Ghana and has a total land area of about 1,599 sq. km. with a population density of 68.9 persons per sq. km.

It shares boundaries with West Mamprusi Municipal to the north, Karaga District to the east, Kumbungu District to the west and Tamale Metropolitan Assembly to the south. The altitude of the Municipality ranges between 400 and 800 feet above sea level.

The population of the Municipality according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 122,888  with 60,390 males and 62,498 females.