The Aowin Municipal (formerly Aowin Suaman District) is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 9 of MMDAs in the Western North Region with the administrative capital as Enchi

The Aowin Suaman District was established on 23rd November, 1988 by the Local Government Legislative Instrument (L.I) 1392. Suaman was carved out of it in 2012 and it became Aowin District Assembly and now a Municipality by a Legislative Instrument (L.I) 2017.

The Aowin Municipal located in the mid-western part of the Western Region of Ghana between latitude  five degrees twenty-five minutes and six degrees fourteen minutes North (5° 25’ N and 6° 14’ N) and longitude two degrees thirty minutes and three degrees five minutes West (2° 30’W and 3° 05’W). It covers a total land area of 2,610.301 square kilometres.

The Districts that share border with Aowin Municipal are Amenfi West Municipal to the east, Juaboso and Sefwi Akontombra Districts to the north, Jomoro Municipal to the south and the Republic of La Cote d’Ivoire to the west. 

The population of the Municipality according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 117,886 with 61,262 males and 56,624 females.