The Sefwi Wiawso Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the twenty two (22) of MMDAs in the Western North Region.


The Municipality was established by Legislative Instrument (L.I) 1386 on November, 23rd 1988 with the administrative Capital of the Municipality as Wiawso.


The Sefwi Wiawso Municipality lies in the North Eastern part of the Western Region between latitudes 60N and 60 300 N and Longitudes 20 450 W and 20 150 W. and it covers an area of 1,1011.6


The Municipality shares boundaries with Bibiani Anhwiaso Bekwai Municipal to the east, to the west with Bodi District, to the north with Asunafo South District in the Ahafo Region and to the south with Aowin Municipal.


The population of the Municipality according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 139,200 with 69,753 males and 69,447 females.