The Mpohor District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana and forms part of the14 MMDAs in the Western Region.

Mpohor District with its administrative capital Mpohor was carved from Mpohor Wassa and forms part of the new Districts and Municipalities created in the year 2012 and were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June, 2012.

Mpohor District is located at the south-eastern end of the region and established with a legislative instrument (L.I) 2019. The District covers a total land area of 524.533 square kilometers.

It is bounded on the west by Ahanta West Municipal, east by Wassa Amenfi East Municipal, north-west by Tarkwa-Nsueam Municipal and Shama District.

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 52,473 with 26,979 males and 25,494 females.