The Obuasi East District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 43 of MMDAs in the Ashanti Region.

The Obuasi East District Assembly is carved out of the Obuasi Municipal Assembly as one of the 38 newly created and upgraded District Assemblies in 2018.

Created with LI 2332, the Obuasi East District Assembly   has its capital as Tutuka.

It was inaugurated on March 15, 2018 alongside other 37 newly created districts.   

The District is located in the southern part of Ashanti Region, bounded to the north by Adansi North District, south by Akrofuom District, east by Adansi Asokwa District and west by the Obuasi Municipality.

The population of the District according to the 2021 Population and Housing Census stands at

92,401 with 44,927 males and 47,474 females.