The Ho West District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 18 of Municipalities and Districts in the Volta Region.

 Ho West District is located between latitudes 6.33o 32” N and 6.93o 63” N and longitudes 0.17o 45” E and 0.53o 39” E. It was established by the Legislative Instrument (LI) 2083 of 2012.

It was curved out of Ho Municipality in January 2012 and inaugurated in June; 2013.The District derived its name from Ho West constituency. It is the highest political and Administrative authority in the District. Its District capital is Dzolokpuita.

It shares boundaries with Adaklu District to the south, Afadjato South District to then north, Ho Municipality and the Republic of Togo to the east and South Dayi District to the west

The population of the District according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 94,600 with 43,361 males and 49,239 females.