The Fanteakwa South District Assembly is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies in Ghana and forms part of the 33 Municipalities and Districts in Eastern Region.

The Fanteakwa South District Assembly is carved out of the Fanteakwa North District as one of the 38 newly created and upgraded District Assemblies in 2018.

Created with LI 2345, the Fanteakwa South District Assembly has its capital as Osino

It was inaugurated on March 15, 2018 alongside other 37 newly created districts.  The District lies at the central part of the Eastern Region with a total land area of 803 square kilometers.

It shares boundaries with Fanteakwa North District to the north, Kwahu South District to the north-west, East Akim Municipal and Atiwa East District to the south and Yilo Krobo Municipal and Lower Manya Krobo Municipal to the east. It bonded to the north by the Volta Lake.


The current population of the Fanteakwa South District from 2021 PHC is 58,987  Males constitute 28,857 while as females are 28,130.