The West Akyem Municipal is in one of the 260 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies in Ghana and forms part of the 33 Municipalities and Districts in Eastern Region.

It lies between longitudes 0 degrees 25 minutes West and 0 degrees 47 minutes West and latitudes 5 degrees 40 minutes North and covers an area of about 1,018 square kilometers.

The Municipal capital, Asamankese, is located 75 kilometres North-West of Accra off the main Accra- Kumasi trunk road.

The Municipal shares boundaries with Kwaebibrem Municipal to the North, Birim South District to the West, Agona West Municipal, Effutu Municipal and Ga East Municipal to the South, and Suhum and Nsawam Adoegyiri Municipals to the East.

The population of the municipality according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 108,298 with 52,208 males and 56,090 females.