The Hohoe Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 18 of Municipalities and Districts in the Volta Region.

Hohoe Municipal situated in the middle of the Volta Region which has a total land area of 1,172 km2 , which is 5.6 percent of the land area of the region. It is located in longitude 00 15’E and 00 45’E and latitude 6o 45’N and 7o 15’N and lies almost in the heart of region. The Administrative Capital of the Municipality is Hohoe.

The Municipality Shares boundaries with Afadjato South District to the north, to the south with South Dayi District, Ho Municipal and Ho West District respectively, to the east with  the Republic of Togo and to the west with Kpando Municipal.

The population of the municipality according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 167,016 with 79,967 males and 87,049 females.