Akwapim South District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana and forms part of the 33 Municipalities and Districts in Eastern Region.

The District was carved from Nsawam Adoagyiri Municipal and forms part of the new districts and municipalities created in the year 2012 and has Aburi as the capital.

The Akwapim South District is located at the south eastern part of the Eastern Region of Ghana between latitudes 5.450N and 5.580N, and Longitudes 0.0W and covers a land area of about 224.13 kilometres square.

It is bordered to the west by the Nsawam Adoagyiri Municipality, to the south-east by the Kpone-Katamanso Municipal, to the south by the Ga East Municipal and to the north-east by the Akuapem North Municipality

The population of the District according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 37,501 with 18,174 males and 19,327 females.