Upper West Akim District in the Eastern Region was one of the 46 districts that were created. It was carved out of the West Akim Municipality in 2011 by a Legislative Instrument LI 2049. The District was inaugurated on 30th June 2012 and it is now one of the 26 administrative districts in the Eastern Region.

This chapter gives a brief description of the district in terms of the physical features, cultural and social structure and district economy. It also discusses the census methodology, concepts and definitions as well as the organization of the report.

Location and Size

The Upper West Akim District has its capital town as Adeiso and it is located on the main Nsawam-Kade highway. It is located in the south western part of the Region. It shares boundaries with Ayensuano District to the east, West Akim Municipality to the north, Nsawam Adoagyiri Municipality to the south eastern part, Ga South Municipality to the south and Awutu-Afutu Senya District in the Central region to the west. The Upper West Akim District is the only district in the Eastern Region that shares boundaries with the Central and Greater Accra Regions. It has a total land size of about 342.3 km2.


Date Created : 11/27/2017 5:13:51 AM