Relevant Data
   Location and Size

Kwabre East Municipal, carved out of the former Kwabre Sekyere District in 1988, is located almost in the central portion of the Ashanti region. It is within latitudes 60 44’ North and longitudes 10 33’ to 1044’ West.

The Municipal shares common boundaries with Afigya Sekyere District to the North; Kumasi Metropolitan Area to the South; Ejisu Juaben District to the Southeast; Atwima District to the West and Offinso District to the Northwest. The Municipal has a total land area of 246.8 square kilometres constituting about 1.01% of the total land area of Ashanti Region. Kwabre District is part of the greater Kumasi City region, which is made up of Kumasi Metropolitan Area and the surrounding Districts.

The District capital, Mamponteng, is approximately 14.5 kilometres from Kumasi to the north east. There are 86 settlements, administered under 3 paramountcies, 2 parliamentary constituencies, 11 Area Councils and 42 District electoral areas.

Topography and Drainage

Kwabre Municipal land height ranges from 305 to 335 metres above sea level in the eastern portion with isolated large rock out-crops, while the western boundary of the district is generally gently undulating, under 290 metres above sea level. There are also a few areas of very large rocky hills and outcrops which lie between a range of 360 metres and a little above 610 metres.

The Municipal is well drained by a number of streams and their tributaries. The general pattern of drainage in the Kwabre Municipal  is dendrite, with most of the streams taking their sources from the plateau on the eastern portion of the district and rocky hills and outcrops at the western flank.

Climate and Vegetation

The climate of the Municipal is the Wet Semi-equatorial type. The predominant vegetation types found in the Municipal are Moist Semi-Deciduous Forest and isolated Grassland. Continuous felling of trees has deprived the Municipal of its valuable tree species and other forest products. Continuous cultivation and a major bush fire in 1983 have affected the vegetation belt greatly. Most of what is left is secondary forest.

Geology and Soil

The major types of rocks formed in the district are biotite, granites and granodiorites. Weathering products of these granite rocks contain substantial amount of resistant quartz, which has given granitic soils their characteristic gritty texture.



Date Created : 11/29/2017 1:44:34 AM