Political Administration

Historically, Donkorkrom started as a hunting field and was then known as Atakora, the name derived from the first chief hunter called Atakora Nyame. Donkorkrom is the Administrative capital of the Kwahu Afram Plains North District and also part of the Kwahu Traditional council.

The Kwahu Afram Plains North Assembly is the highest political administrative authority. The Assembly has five zonal Councils, 60 Unit Committees and one constituency (Afram Plains North). Figure 1 shows the map of Kwahu Afram Plains North.

The Assembly is made up of the District Chief Executive; forty-five (45) Assembly members of which two thirds are elected and one-third appointed by the President in consultation with the chiefs and interest groups in the district.



Date Created : 11/26/2017 12:42:00 AM