The Kwahu Afram Plains North District started as Kwahu North until 1988 when it became a Sub-district of the Kwahu District Council. In 1989, the District was inaugurated and established Donkorkrom as its District Capital. The District gained its legal status with the Legislative Instrument LI 1415 of 1993 that gave it the name Afram Plains.

The legislative Instrument LI 1826 however, changed its name from Afram Plains to Kwahu North District which is now divided into Kwahu Afram Plains North and South. The Kwahu Afram Plains North district capital is Donkorkrom, which is 347km from Koforidua, 405km from Accra and 258km from Kumasi.


Date Created : 11/26/2017 12:24:28 AM