The Akatsi North district was established by Legislative Instrument (L.I.) 2016 in 2012. It was carved out from the former Akatsi district. The district capital is Ave Dakpa. This chapter presents information on the district based on the 2010 Population and Housing Census (PHC). The topics discussed in this chapter include physical features, political administration, social and cultural structures, the economy, concepts and definitions and organization of the report.

The Akatsi North District Assembly (ANDA) is the highest political and administrative authority in the district. The legislative and deliberative organ of the Assembly is made up of 20 members including the District Chief Executive (DCE) and a Member of Parliament (MP). Twelve members of the Assembly are elected and six (6) are government appointees. The other members are the DCE and the MP who is a non-voting member. There is only one Constituency, the Akatsi North Constituency in the district. The Assembly has two Area Councils, namely, Ave-Dakpa Area Council and Avevi Area Council


Date Created : 11/17/2017 5:10:54 AM