Mampong Municipality is one of the six Municipal Assemblies in the Ashanti region following the splitting and upgrading of the former Sekyere West District into Mampong Municipal and Sekyere Central District by Legislative Instrument (L.I.) 1908. It is also one of the thirty administrative districts in the Ashanti Region of Ghana. It is bounded to the south by Sekyere South district, to the east by Sekyere Central and the North by Ejura Sekye Dumasi districts. The capital for the Municipality is Mampong. It is also located within longitudes 0005²W and 1030²W and latitudes 6055²Nand 7 030²N.

The Municipality covers an area of about 23.9km2. The major towns within the Municipality are Mampong, Krobo, Dadease, Asaam, Kofiase, Adidwan and Apaah. It has about 79 settlements with about 61percent of them being rural. The rural areas are mostly found in the northern part of the Municipality where communities with an average of less than 50 people live in dispersed patterns.

The population of the Municipality was 88,051 according to the 2010 PHC as against 78,056 in 2000 (GSS, Population and Housing Census, 2000). Over a decade, the Municipality experienced a population increase of about 9,995, which represents 12.8 percent increase with an annual growth rate of 1.3 percent.


Date Created : 11/27/2017 7:37:08 AM