North Gonja  District with its capital Daboya was carved from West Gonja and forms part of the new districts and municipalities created in the year 2012 and were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June, 2012.

The President H.E. J.E.A Mills, by an Executive Instrument (E.I) created 46 new Districts. All the inaugurated and confirmed MMDAs established are operational with immediate effect hence bringing the total number of MMDAs to 216.

The district shares boundaries with Mamprugo Moaduri District to the north Wa West to the North West. West Gonja to the south, Sawla-Tuna- Kalba district to the west, Tolon district to the South East and Kumbungu district to the North West.

The population of the district according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 43,547 with 21,592 males and 21,955 females.