The Upper Denkyira East Municipality is one of the twenty two(22) Administrative Metropolitan, Municipalities and Districts of the Central Region.

The Municipality was established in 2007 by Legislative Instrument (LI 1877) from the then Upper Denkyira District. It was inaugurated in February 2008. The Administrative Capital is Dunkwa-On-Offin.

It lies within Latitudes 5º. 30’and 6º 02’ North of the Equator and Longitudes 1º W and 2º West of the Greenwich Meridian. 

It shares common boundaries with Adansi South in the north, Assin Central Municipal in the east and Twiffo Atti-Morkwa District in the west and Upper Denkyira West District in the north-west.

The Upper Denkyira East Municipality covers a total land area of 1,020 square kilometers, which is about 10% of the total land area of the Central Region.

The population of the Municipality according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 72,810 with 35,750 male and 37,020 female.