Tolon District (Formerly Tolon/Kumbugu District) was carved out of the then Western Dagomba District in 1998. The President H.E. J.E.A Mills, by an Executive Instrument (E.I) created 46 new Districts. 

In the year 2012 the district was divided and separated from Kumbugu. The newly created districts   were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June, 2012. All the inaugurated and confirmed MMDAs established are operational with immediate effect hence bringing the total number of MMDAs to 216.

Tolon District is among twenty (26) districts in the Northern Region with Tolon as its administrative capital. 

The district shares borders with North Gonja to the West, Kumbungu District to the North, Central Gonja to the south and to the East with Tamale Metropolitan.

The population of the district according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 72,990 with 36,360 males and 36,630 females.