The Asokore Mampong Municipal Assembly was carved out of the Kumasi Metropolitan Assembly and was thus created as a result of the implementation of the Decentralization Programme on June 29th, 2012.

The Municipality was established by Legislative Instrument, (L.I) 2112. The Municipality covers a total land area of 23.91 km2 and it is located to the North-Eastern part of the Kumasi Metropolis.

The assembly shares boundaries with Kumasi Metropolitan Assembly (KMA) to the east, south and west, Kwabre East Municipal to the north-west and Ejisu Municipal Assembly to the south-east.

Although a small land size, the Municipality according to the 2010 Population and Housing Census stands at  304,815 (PHC, 2010) with 10 electoral areas namely; Aboabo No.1, Aboabo No.2, Adukrom, Akurem, Asokore Mampong, Sawaba, Asawasi, New Zongo, Sepe-Tinpom and Akwatialine Electoral Areas. with 145,779 males 159,036 females.