Mion  District with its capital Sang was carved from Yendi and forms part of the new districts and municipalities created in the year 2012 and were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June, 2012.

The President H.E. J.E.A Mills, by an Executive Instrument (E.I) created 46 new Districts.  All the inaugurated and confirmed MMDAs established are operational with immediate effect hence bringing the total number of MMDAs to 216.

The district shares boundaries with Yendi municipal to the East, Karaga district to the north, East Gonja to the south and Tamale metropolitan to the west.

The population of the district according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 81,812 with 40,649 males and 41,163 females.