The DA is the highest political authority in the district as stipulated under Section 10 of the Local Government Act, 1993 (act 462). It has been empowered to be responsible for the overall development of the district as stated in Section 2 of the National Development Planning Systems Act (act 480). There is a District Chief Executive, who functions both as a political and administrative leader.

There are 45 members with two-third elected and the remaining one-third appointed by the president of Ghana in consultation with traditional authority and recognised interest groups in the district. A presiding member is also elected by two-third majority of all members of the Assembly. 

The assembly has the Executive Committee and five sub-committees. The DA has all 11 decentralised departments. However, some of the constituents of the departments are not present in the district. Certain constitutional departments are present. An example is NCCE.


Date Created : 11/21/2017 5:45:59 AM